My First Time: Writing a One Man Play

I’ve been told many a times that an empty feeling settles in once you finish high school and I’ve countered many a times that no such thing would ever happen to me.

A week and a half ago, I gave my last finals paper, finishing High School. I then, sent out my applications for Universities abroad in which I hopefully get accepted. Once, the process was done, advanced my real brother’s wedding. He was marrying the love of his life in a Hindu Culture and I couldn’t have been more happy. The wedding was beautiful, huge, long, and super tiring. One of the most surreal experiences that have happened in my small life.

Once the whole ordeal was over, that infamous empty feeling set in and I began contemplating life, naturally.

As I was laying under my covers with my laptop on my stomach, I had this urge to write blogs again and actually be active because I’m clearly an embarrassment to this community.

Anyway, moving on, this is a new series I would like to start and continue, called, My First Time, and it will have those moments that hold meanings and how they came to happen etcetera.

My first time writing a one man play.

I have a friend who once told me that he was going to audition for a role in one of those Indian crime shows and needed my help for the same. He didn’t provide me with any clues as to how he wanted this one man play to come to light even after my persistent questions. He only told me that he needed it urgently and use your imagination. Now that I think of it, I should have asked for a payment in return. Well, he did lent me some of his Archie Comics.

Well, after a long half an hour of brainstorming, I asked my friend what the topic should be and he recommended ‘Euthanasia’.

As I commenced writing the play, I realised that my only experience in writing was chapters for my books but I loved challenges and so I didn’t give up and let my friend down. I build a plot, got sad, corrected a few typos and finally sent him an email with the attachment of the word document.

This was the outcome.

Euthanasia

Noun

The painless killing of a patient suffering from an incurable and painful disease or in an irreversible coma, other names may include mercy killing, assisted suicide, and physician-assisted suicide.

Well or Good Death.

 

[Eyes casted down, a fearful yet determined look on A’s face.]

[A sighs and slightly raises his head.]

                                  A

I fear that the both of you won’t take my decision well but I really can’t do this anymore.

[Mustering up the courage, A looks at the right side of the camera, a single tear rolling down his left cheek.]

A

Dad, I remember how you always encouraged me to pursue my dreams and I would’ve made you proud if not for this godforsaken accident.

How can I follow my dreams when I can’t even stand?

That accident took half of my body away from me and along with that, my reason to live.

[Exasperated]

[A throws his hands in the air but not too far.]

The doctor’s are not even sure if there is a chance of recovery, because clearly there isn’t.

[Small Pause and continues in a calm tone]

I can’t live like this anymore; I can’t just sit in one place and watch my life pass by.

[Now, A’s eyes avert to the left of the camera.]

[A’s eyes water more as he sees the tears rolling down his mother’s face.]

A

Mom, don’t cry, please. I don’t want to see you cry over someone who’s not even capable of doing his own work.

You know that I want to be able to stand on my own feet. I don’t want to be burden on you and dad.

[Pauses and looks at the right for a second, then back to his mother.]

I love the both of you so much and I know you both love me more than anything.

So, this is my last request to you.

[Sighs]

I want to die in peace.

I want to reincarnate as a new human being.

I want to stand on my feet again.

I still don’t know if he got the part or if he actually auditioned but for me, this moment would forever stay with me.

 

Leave a Reply

